Eat Pray Love

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

4/7 stars

I’ll be honest, I read this book because it’s popular. Apparently, it’s getting a movie, and a ton of book blogs and shows have recommended it. I gave it a fair shot. I really did. But I cannot say I was impressed.

First of all, the positives. Gilbert is an excellent writer. She can transport you to any location and make you feel like you personally know the people she’s writing about. Her elocution added a full two stars onto my score for this book, as it was a pleasure to read. Without the technicality of the writing, however, this book would get a paltry two stars from me.

This book is often touted as a spiritual memoir. Technically that statement is true. Unfortunately, she has so little spiritual vocabulary that her revelations struck me as highly pedestrian. Anyone who’s studied nearly any religion for more than six months could give you better instruction in faith.

What I found frustrating was how hard a time she had learning from her own experiences. She had the exact same breakthroughs at least four times within the confines of the book and each time she promptly forgot about it and moved back to a position of sadness and despair. I just wanted to shake some sense into her. By the very end of the book, she does move into a slightly healthier position so the book is not a complete and total loss.

I do not recommend this book to anyone. If you want a spiritually uplifting book, I can recommend some but don’t bother with this one.

This entry was posted in Non-fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

