The Power of Pull

The Power of Pull

By John Hagel III, John Seely Brown, and Lang Davidson

2/7 stars

I was expecting this book to be about technology and/or the future of the digital age. This book is not like that at all. The Power of Pull is rather about how to use the internet, social media and conferences to learn new things and influence others. Fundamentally, that’s not a bad thing to learn. Unfortunately, I got next to nothing from The Power of Pull.

There were two main problems I had with The Power of Pull. The first is simply that I am not the target audience. As far as I can tell, The Power of Pull was written for CEOs and middle managers who did not grow up with the realities of online media. At one point, the authors explained that with the capabilities of the internet, a user can learn about anything they want, connect with people of similar interests, and collaborate with people around the world. Really? Gee, I had no idea. I also had no idea that when people collaborate, they get more done. Good grief.

My second problem with the book was the tendency to make broad, sweeping statements. I prefer specificity in writing. If you are going to make a statement about how reality works, please at least back it up with an example. The few examples that were used were rife with errors, which also aggravated me. Using an apple falling on Newton’s head as an example of serendipity is not a good way to give yourself credibility, as that never actually happened. It’s condescending to my intelligence and insulting to the brilliance of Newton’s work.

This book was clearly not for me.

This entry was posted in Business. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

